h1

Book Evaluations (Among Other Things)

April 19, 2010

There are a few people that have committed to helping me read and review all the books donated thus far, and I am grateful for them. I read one of the bilingual books myself (so short it hardly counts), but I plan on reading other longer ones.

I did a bit of comparing and I think I found the best deal on book laminate (book protection). Woohoo! Now I need to decide whether or not it’s worth it to get book tape as well. First, how much better is book tape than regular tape? And will the entire book last long enough to make the extra expense worthwhile? I’m leaning towards forgoing book tape and instead looking for Spanish reference materials–something Maria professed a need for. Ideally, I would like to purchase them in Nicaragua. Then we don’t have to ship them, it’s putting money in the economy, and I’d know it’s the type of encyclopedia/dictionary/thesaurus/etc. that they would be useful and of interest to them.

Today I stumbled across a very interesting site while comparing prices: Learning Resources. I’m not planning on getting anything there now, but it gives me lots of ideas. What I like is that the site has learning games made with native Spanish speakers in mind, rather than for those learning it as a second language. I wish I knew more of what kind of school materials are available in Nicaragua and their cost.

One comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amanda Ford. Amanda Ford said: Book Evaluations: http://wp.me/pEykC-2D […]



Leave a Reply

