h1

Highsmith and Rasmussen

December 30, 2009

I finally decided where I’m getting the book protection stuff from, thanks to a recommendation from Mary Dimaggio, Rasmussen College’s librarian. She’s been an incredible help in getting ideas and lists together. (As a side note, Rasmussen College itself is nice.) Anyway, I made a tentative Wish List on Highsmith.com‘s library materials site today, and plan on ordering some things in the next couple of days.  They have a great selection, and the catalog has given me even more things to think about–surprise, surprise. Shelving is understandably very expensive, but looking at different designs gives me something to keep in mind if we make some.

Today I went back to Pan de Vida and found a nice hardback Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible, some Spanish children’s music, and a neat kids book. The concordance was my big expenditure, but it’s worth it. I didn’t want to spend much more so I can afford a good variety of book tape and book protection. Fortunately, these things are reasonably priced. You can see for yourself by clicking the “Wish List” button. I’m starting to think seriously about card cataloging systems, and they’re surprisingly expensive–though maybe that’s me being naive. I want to call some libraries in the area and see if they might know of anyone who would have one…

Oh! I realize that I never gave an update on our first Club Leo collection. We got three books for this first one, which is fine because it was all done on a small scale with limited time. We’ll  be doing this again in 2010. Speaking of which, I hope your year of 2010 is delightful. =]

Leave a Reply

