h1

Merry Christmas!

December 26, 2009

I hope everyone had a great Christmas. There’s a local store with Spanish materials that will be closing on the 31st. I went there a week or so ago and bought one book. I intend to return in a few days and see what I can get with some of my Christmas money.

On another note, some of the people I first went down to Nicaragua with just went on another trip down there this morning–I can’t wait to hear their stories. I’ve recently realized how quickly time is passing–I only have a couple week to decide which books to send down with the January trip, and I still need to purchase some sort of binding protection for them. I’m leaning towards the kind which I’m sure is more expensive, but also more sturdy: that thick plastic you often see on paperback library books. I’ll be checking prices soon, and seeing where I can order some.

I recently found out that when my youth group goes back to Nicaragua in July, one of our projects will be supporting the Library Mission. I don’t know what exacting we’ll be collecting–Spanish books, classroom materials, some other specific need–but it’ll be really exciting. =] I’ve been thinking a lot about the effects of the library, and so I’m reading a book called “Cross-Cultural Servanthood.” I want to ensure that they feel valuable and loved, not belittled or inferior–because the latter is far from showing Christ’s love. I want the library to be something that points people to God’s love for them, reminding them year ’round what Christmas is all about.

Leave a Reply

